8. Nice Agreement Concerning the International Classification of Goods and Services
for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks

Nice Agreement (1957), revised at Stockholm (1967) and at Geneva (1977), and amended in 1979
(Nice Union)

Status on June 3, 2025

State	Date on which State became party to the Agreement September 19, 2003	Latest Act of the Agreement to which State is party and date on which it became party to that Act	
Albania		Geneva:	September 19, 2003
Algeria	July 5, 1972	Stockholm:	July 5, 1972
Antigua and Barbuda	June 25, 2019	Geneva:	June 25, 2019
Argentina	January 24, 2008	Geneva:	January 24, 2008
Armenia	March 6, 2005	Geneva:	March 6, 2005
Australia	April 8, 1961	Geneva:	February 6, 1979
Austria	November 30, 1969	Geneva:	August 21, 1982
Azerbaijan	October 14, 2003	Geneva:	October 14, 2003
Bahamas	September 3, 2025	Geneva:	September 3, 2025
Bahrain	December 15, 2005	Geneva:	December 15, 2005
Barbados	March 12, 1985	Geneva:	March 12, 1985
Belarus	June 12, 1998	Geneva:	June 12, 1998 November 20, 1984
Belgium Benin	June 6, 1962 February 6, 1979	Geneva: Geneva:	February 6, 1979
Bosnia and Herzegovina	March 1, 1992	Geneva:	March 23, 1994
Bulgaria	February 27, 2001	Geneva:	February 27, 2001
Canada.	June 17, 2019	Geneva:	June 17, 2019
China	August 9, 1994	Geneva:	August 9, 1994 ^{1, 2}
Croatia	October 8, 1991	Geneva:	October 29, 1992
Cuba	December 26, 1995	Geneva:	December 26, 1995
Czech Republic	January 1, 1993	Geneva:	January 1, 1993
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	June 6, 1997	Geneva:	June 6, 1997
Denmark ³	November 30, 1961	Geneva:	June 3, 1981
Dominica	September 8, 2000	Geneva:	September 8, 2000
Egypt	June 18, 2005	Geneva:	June 18, 2005
Estonia	May 27, 1996	Geneva:	May 27, 1996
Finland	August 18, 1973	Geneva:	February 6, 1979
France ⁴	April 8, 1961	Geneva:	April 22, 1980
Georgia	February 28, 2003	Geneva:	February 28, 2003
Germany	January 29, 1962	Geneva:	January 12, 1982
Greece	November 7, 1998	Geneva:	November 7, 1998
Guinea	November 5, 1996	Geneva:	November 5, 1996
Hungary Iceland	March 23, 1967 April 9, 1995	Geneva: Geneva:	August 21, 1982 April 9, 1995
India	September 7, 2019	Geneva:	September 7, 2019
Indonesia	October 7, 2023	Geneva	October 7, 2023
Iran (Islamic Republic of)	July 12, 2018	Geneva:	July 12, 2018
Ireland	December 12, 1966	Geneva:	February 6, 1979
Israel	April 8, 1961	Geneva:	September 25, 2021
Italy	April 8, 1961	Geneva:	February 19, 1983
Jamaica	February 7, 2006	Geneva:	February 7, 2006
Japan	February 20, 1990	Geneva:	February 20, 1990
Jordan	November 14, 2008	Geneva:	November 14, 2008
Kazakhstan	April 24, 2002	Geneva:	April 24, 2002
Kyrgyzstan	December 10, 1998	Geneva:	December 10, 1998
Latvia	January 1, 1995	Geneva:	January 1, 1995
Lebanon	April 8, 1961	Nice:	April 8, 1961
Liechtenstein	May 29, 1967	Geneva:	February 14, 1987
Lithuania	February 22, 1997	Geneva:	February 22, 1997
Luxembourg	March 24, 1975	Geneva:	December 21, 1983
Malawi	October 24, 1995	Geneva:	October 24, 1995
MalaysiaMexico	September 28, 2007 March 21, 2001	Geneva: Geneva:	September 28, 2007 March 21, 2001
Monaco	April 8, 1961	Geneva: Geneva:	May 9, 1981
Mongolia	June 16, 2001	Geneva:	June 16, 2001
Montenegro	June 3, 2006	Geneva:	February 16, 2013
Morocco	October 1, 1966	Stockholm:	January 24, 1976
Mozambique	January 18, 2002	Geneva:	January 18, 2002
Netherlands (Kingdom of the) ^{5, 6}	August 20, 1962	Geneva:	August 15, 1979
New Zealand	October 16, 2013 ⁷	Geneva:	October 16, 2013
North Macedonia	September 8, 1991	Geneva:	October 26, 1993
North Macedonia			

8. Nice Agreement Concerning the International Classification of Goods and Services for the Purposes of the Registration of Marks

Nice Agreement (1957), revised at Stockholm (1967) and at Geneva (1977), and amended in 1979 (Nice Union)

State Paraguay	Date on which State became party to the Agreement August 31, 2021	Latest Act of the Agreement to which State is party and date on which it became party to that Act	
		Geneva	August 31, 2021
Peru	October 18, 2022 ⁸	Geneva	October 18, 2022
Poland	March 4, 1997	Geneva:	March 4, 1997
Portugal	April 8, 1961	Geneva:	July 30, 1982
Republic of Korea	January 8, 1999	Geneva:	January 8, 1999
Republic of Moldova	December 1, 1997	Geneva:	December 1, 1997
Romania	June 30, 1998	Geneva:	June 30, 1998
Russian Federation	July 26, 1971 9	Geneva:	December 30, 1987 ⁹
Saint Kitts and Nevis	October 27, 2005	Geneva:	October 27, 2005
Saint Lucia	March 18, 2001	Geneva:	March 18, 2001
Saudi Arabia	July 22, 2021	Geneva:	July 22, 2021
Serbia 10	April 27, 1992	Geneva:	December 17, 2010
Singapore	March 18, 1999	Geneva:	March 18, 1999
Slovakia	January 1, 1993	Geneva:	January 1, 1993
Slovenia	June 25, 1991	Geneva:	September 30, 1992
Spain	April 8, 1961	Geneva:	May 9, 1979
Suriname	December 16, 1981	Geneva:	December 16, 1981
Sweden	July 28, 1961	Geneva:	February 6, 1979
Switzerland	August 20, 1962	Geneva:	April 22, 1986
Syrian Arab Republic	March 28, 2005	Geneva:	March 28, 2005
Tajikistan	December 25, 1991	Geneva:	December 25, 1991
Trinidad and Tobago	March 20, 1996	Geneva:	March 20, 1996
Tunisia	May 29, 1967	Nice:	May 29, 1967
Türkiye	January 1, 1996	Geneva:	January 1, 1996
Turkmenistan	June 7, 2006	Geneva:	June 7, 2006
Ukraine	December 29, 2000	Geneva:	December 29, 2000
United Arab Emirates	April 18, 2022	Geneva:	April 18, 2022
United Kingdom	April 15, 1963 11, 12	Geneva:	July 3, 1979
United Republic of Tanzania	September 14, 1999	Geneva:	September 14, 1999
United States of America	May 25, 1972	Geneva:	February 29, 1984
Uruguay	January 19, 2000	Geneva:	January 19, 2000
Uzbekistan	January 12, 2002	Geneva:	January 12, 2002

(Total: 94 States)

¹ The Geneva Act applies also to Macao, China with effect from December 20, 1999.

² The Geneva Act applies to Hong Kong, China with effect from February 27, 2013.

³ Denmark extended the application of the Stockholm Act to the Faroe Islands with effect from October 28, 1972.

⁴ Including all Overseas Departments and Territories.

⁵ The Kingdom of the Netherlands had extended the application of the Geneva Act to Aruba with effect from November 8, 1986, but on February 20, 1989, suspended that application retroactively as from that date for an indefinite period. The said suspension was terminated with effect on February 28, 1994.

⁶ The Kingdom of the Netherlands extended the application of the Agreement to the islands of Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba, with effect from May 21, 2012.

⁷ With a declaration that this accession shall not extend to Tokelau unless and until a declaration to this effect is lodged by the Government of New Zealand with the depositary on the basis of appropriate consultation with that territory.

⁸ With a declaration relating to Article 8(3) of the Agreement, according to which all amendments to Articles 5, 6, 7 and 8 of the said Agreement shall only enter into force for Peru once it has notified the Director General of WIPO of its acceptance of them.

⁹ Date of adherence of the Soviet Union, continued by the Russian Federation as from December 25, 1991.

¹⁰ Serbia is the continuing State from Serbia and Montenegro as from June 3, 2006.

¹¹ The United Kingdom extended the application of the Agreement to the territory of Gibraltar with effect from January 1, 2021.

¹² The United Kingdom extended the application of the Agreement to the territories of the Bailiwick of Guernsey and the Isle of Man with effect from March 23, 2021.